

Board Members Absent

Sanchaita Datta

Utah Board of Higher Education Utah State University Friday, May 19, 2023

COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE **MINUTES**

Board Members Present

Lisa-Michele Church, Chair Jesselie Anderson, Vice Chair Grace Acosta Stan Albrecht

Julie Beck

Stacey Bettridge

Rich Christiansen

Hope Eccles

Korianne Gibson

Patricia Jones

Arthur Newell

Shawn Newell (absent for Committee of the Whole at 4:30 p.m.)

Steve Starks

Scott Theurer

Xitlalli Villanueva

Rick Wheeler

Office of the Commissioner

Dave R. Woolstenhulme, Commissioner of Higher Education Geoffrey Landward, Deputy Commissioner Nate Talley, Deputy Commissioner and CFO Taylor Adams, Associate Commissioner for Strategic Initiatives Alison Adams-Perlac, General Counsel Brynn Fronk, Executive Assistant to the Utah Board of Higher Education Julie Hartley, Associate Commissioner of Academic Education Katie Mazzie, Director of Student-Centered Initiatives Hilary Renshaw, Associate General Council

Utah State University Board of Trustees

Kent Alder, Chair Gina Gagon David Huntsman David Petersen

Public USU Presidential Candidates

Chair Church called the meeting to order at 7:40 a.m.

Chair Church reviewed the closed session motions from the Board meetings on May 18, 2023, at Utah State University and Bridgerland Technical College.

ushe.edu

Board Meeting Minutes Friday, May 19, 2023

Board member Shawn moved to go into closed session for the purposes of discussing the character, professional competence, or physical or mental health of an individual. Board member Acosta seconded the motion, and the Board members in attendance voted unanimously in favor. The motion passed.

Closed Session

Board member Acosta made a motion to end closed session. Board member Eccles seconded the motion, and the Board members in attendance voted unanimously in favor. The motion passed.

Committee of the Whole

Chair Church welcomed those in attendance and provided brief comments. She addressed the presidential search process and thanked the presidential search committee members for their efforts. Board member Wheeler moved to appoint Elizabeth "Beth" Cantwell to be the next president of Utah State University. Board member Acosta seconded the motion, and the Board members in attendance voted unanimously in favor. The motion passed. Utah State University Board of Trustees Chair Kent Alder provided some brief remarks. Chair Church introduced Dr. Cantwell, and Dr. Cantwell addressed the group and expressed her appreciation and excitement.

Board member Acosta moved to adjourn. Board member Starks seconded the motion, and the Board members in attendance voted unanimously in favor. The motion passed.

The meeting adjourned at 4:45 p.m.	
	Geoffrey Landward, Secretary
Date Approved:	

